TTFC Silent Support Weekend

Thurlby Tigers U12 Orange crowned champions with final-day victory

Thurlby Tigers U12 Orange have won their first league championship following a 2-0 victory over Hampton Yellow at Lawrence Park.

The Tigers went into the game last Sunday knowing that only a win would see them overtake Wittering Harriers Youth and finish in top spot in Division 4, and were buoyed by a dramatic last-minute 5-4 defeat of fellow promotion hopefuls Deeping United Red in their last game. 

Thurlby started the game strongly, and dominated the first half with possession and chances, but several opportunities to grab that all-important opening goal to settle their nerves were spurned or saved by an inspired Hampton goalkeeper.

The breakthrough came in the second half. Alex Short broke through the defensive line to run through on goal, and after an initial save from the goalkeeper, the ball fortuitously ricocheted into the back of the net off a Hampton defender. Further chances followed, and a controlled finish by Ethan Parry wrapped up the win.

Celebrations duly followed on the pitch after the final whistle was blown, and the team were presented with their trophies at Lawrence Park on Monday evening by officials from the Peterborough Junior Alliance League.

The Tigers won 13 games out of 18 in Division 4, finishing one point clear of second-placed Wittering who they beat twice during the season, and also reached the semi-finals of the Hereward Cup.

U12 Orange manager Phil Smith said: “Myself and coaches Matt Short and Dave Mitchell are absolutely delighted for the team, who have given everything this season. They have shown huge strength, character and resilience in both victory and defeat, and at all times have stuck together. Many of these children have been with Thurlby Tigers since the age of four and five, and over time we have been able to add players to the team who have complemented the original group. They are worthy champions, and will remember this season for the rest of their lives.”

Players: Brodee Dent, Charlie Smith, Cameron Mitchell, Lucian Lower, Sam Bishop, Alex Allen, Harrison Leadbetter, Ethan Parry, Matthew Cork, Alex Short, Dylan Moverley, Zac Farrington, Toby Bell, Harry Coleby.