TTFC Silent Support Weekend

Thurlby Tigers U14s crowned league champions with game to spare, securing third successive promotion

Thurlby Tigers U14s have won their PDJAL Division 3 league championship following a 6-3 victory over Hampton FC earlier this month. The result was actually immaterial with closest rivals March losing on the day to Wittering (5-2) seeing Thurlby crowned champions without having kicked a ball. 

The Tigers completed their third successive promotional season, this time in style losing just 1 league game all season (and conceding their final game as a walkover due to accumulation of injuries). The tipping point in the title race coming at Home on 02nd April, where Thurlby triumphed 4-0 against closest rivals March. 

The Tigers season has seen them score 123 goals, with Goalkeeper Palmer keeping 8 clean sheets and the team conceding just 36 goals in 27 games throughout the season. Prolific scorer Toby Hartley finishing with 41 games in all competitions, and another 5 players contributing 10+ goals (Charlie Gough, Will Atkins, Oliver Fowkes, Noah Bush and Archie Andrew).

The team finally got their hands on the League trophy on Monday evening at Lawrence Park presented by officials from the Peterborough Junior Alliance League. the celebrations duly followed with players, parents and coaches enjoying the occasion. 

U14 coach Phil Davies said: “Myself and coaches Stuart Eling and Tim Palmer are absolutely delighted for the team, a cumulation of years of hard work. We narrowly missed out last season and wanted to go one better this year. The team have suffered several injuries this season so it has been a real squad effort with everyone playing their part. Many of the squad have been with Thurlby Tigers since the age of four and five, and over time we have been able to add players to the team who have complemented the original group. They are worthy champions, and will carry the memories from an excellent season for years to come.”

Thanks go out to the squads long standing sponsor Origin Storage –

Players: Isabel Palmer, Jack Hammond, Isaac Batstone, Callum Davies, Archie Fuller, Riley Weston, Yuvi Ranaut, Zach Bojang-Brett, Peter Wrigley, Will Atikins, Noah Bush, Archie Andrew, Charlie Gough, Oliver Fowkes, Emma Gough, Toby Hartley, Lucas Eling.